Our Franciscan friars elect their leadership at “Chapter,” a meeting held every three years by the Province of St. Barbara. The friar elected to top leadership of the province is called the Provincial Minister. Another friar is elected to the position of Provincial Vicar. These two are assisted by six more friars, called Definitors. With the Provincial Minister and Provincial Vicar, they form an eight-member council called the Provincial Definitorium. The Definitorium elects the Secretary of the Province, the Provincial Treasurer, and other key personnel. The Definitorium administers and guides all ministries of the province, as well as the friars themselves.